As previously announced, Blackboard courses from AY14-15 and AY15-16 will be retired from our active production site by the end of January 2020.
The Blackboard system’s overall performance and efficiency will improve by removing older files and database transactions from the content server and database. This course retirement includes the following terms:
Any courses older than five years
As of FA2019, we began a new academic year of data retention (AY19-20). Additionally, AY16-17, AY17-18, and AY18-19 will remain on the server. However, any remaining organizations that are 2.5 GB in size or larger will also be retired or content migrated to Google Drive. New communities may be requested.
Is my content gone forever?
No. As previously completed during previous terms, Blackboard archived our complete site during the SU2019. Archived Bb courses capture all course data, files, student submissions, discussions, grades, etc. through SP2019. These archives will reside on a secure drive with the Division of Information Technology.
Can I save a copy of my own courses?
Yes -- and we certainly encourage it. Instructors canexport (course content) and/or archive (course content & student data) their courses. You should alsodownload a copy of your grade book. We recommend saving these files to your Google Drive to ensure long-term access in the event you change computer systems.
How long will you keep the retired courses?
We will keep the retired courses for 2 years after Blackboard archives the courses. Faculty who may need content beyond 2 years should plan to save copies of their exported courses to Google Drive.
As always, if you have any questions, please consider the following options: